RETURNING TO GUATEMALA LONG-TERM, BY GOD’S GRACE AND YOUR LOVE. Jesse Brandow: Missionary to Guatemala and Mexico.


Dear friends, near and far:

I’m about to take a big step in my life, and I’m really excited to share this with you. On March 14th , I was officially approved by the Orthodox Christian Mission Center as a long-term missionary candidate to Guatemala. As many of you know, this has been a long time in the making.

With three of the Guatemalan priests during a trip to Tziscao, Mexico, in June 2012

 

I first traveled to Guatemala as a short-term missionary in 2009 and then returned in 2012 for an entire summer. During that summer, I fell in love with the Mayan people who have come into the Orthodox Church: their resilience, humility, and beauty. These people are begging for teachers and missionaries who can guide them as they grow in their newfound faith. Since 2012, I have been praying to God about moving to Guatemala to help answer their need.

Now, after almost two years of further discernment and evaluation by OCMC, I am ready to take the plunge! I am officially a missionary candidate, and I’m already beginning to travel to parishes to raise a team of regular, monthly supporters who will enable me to get to the field. Even though I’ll be traveling to raise support, I still plan to continue my current work (hospital chaplaincy) through August. At that point, my full-time support raising will begin. I have to raise all my own funds, so it will be a long process, but my hope is to move to Guatemala in the first part of 2015.

With two other Guatemalan priests and Fr. John Chakos (second to right), the missionary team leader

Because this is an exciting step for me, I wanted to share the news with all of you. Thank you so much for your love throughout the years, and for all of your support as friends, family, and mentors. If you would like to follow my steps as a missionary, you can like my support team page on Facebook or you can follow my new blog right here on Mayan Orthodoxy.

To subscribe this blog by email, click here.

Again, thank you so much for your love and friendship. I never could have come this far without you, and I still can do nothing except by God’s grace and your love. Please pray for me as I begin this new journey.

With love,
Jesse

Mayan Orthodox in Guatemala and Southern Mexico,2014

http://www.mayanorthodoxy.com/jesse/2014/3/17/returning-to-guatemala-by-gods-grace-and-your-love

http://www.mayanorthodoxy.com/support/

https://www.facebook.com/jessebrandow

 

 

This entry was posted in America, Guatemala, Αμερική, Γουατεμάλα- Guatemala, ΗΠΑ - USA, Λατινική Αμερική ( Central and South America ), Μεξικό-Mexico and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Σχολιάστε

